Getting started with MicroStrategy Web » Logging into MicroStrategy Web » Recovering dashboards, documents, and reports

Recovering dashboards, documents, and reports

If you are logged out of MicroStrategy Web, you can log back in and recover the last dashboard, document, or report you viewed before logging out. This option allows you to resume analyzing or editing a dashboard, document, or report without losing your work. For example, if you open a dashboard, document, or report and step away from your desk, your user session can time out due to inactivity. You can log in to Web again, then immediately resume viewing or editing the open dashboard, document, or report.

Example of logging back in to resume viewing a dashboard

If you close your browser window, log out of Web, or your user session times out due to inactivity, you can log in to Web again, then reopen your last dashboard, document, or report by clicking the Recover link on the left, as shown in the image below.

Example of the Recover link

In the following cases, you can also reopen a dashboard, document, or report using the Please click here to recover FileName notification link at the top of the page, where FileName is the name of the dashboard, document, or report:

If you close your browser window without logging out of Web, but log back in while your user session is still active
If you manually log out of Web or your user session times out due to inactivity, and you log back in

Related topics

Logging in and viewing the status of a project
Logging out of a project and specifying logout preferences