Removing tables

You can remove tables from your project to keep your project from becoming cluttered with tables that are no longer required for your project. You can remove a table from a project using Architect by accessing Project Tables View, right-clicking a table, and selecting Delete.

However, you cannot remove a table from a project if schema objects in the project are dependent on the table. For example, an attribute is dependent on the table that is set as the lookup table for the attribute.

When you attempt to remove a table that has dependent objects, you can view a list of dependent objects for the table. You must first delete all dependent objects from the project before you can delete the table.

Removing tables from a project that have been removed from a data source

When tables that are included in a project are removed from the data source that they were available in, you can use Architect to remove these tables from the project. This allows your project to display an accurate list of tables that are included in the project from the selected data source.

The steps below show you how to perform this task using Architect. To remove these tables using the Warehouse Catalog, see Managing warehouse and project tables.

If tables that were not included in a project are removed from the data source, these tables are automatically removed from the display of available tables in Architect.

To remove tables from a project that have been removed from a data source

1 In MicroStrategy Developer, log in to a project.
2 From the Schema menu, select Architect.
3 If a message is displayed asking if you want to open Architect in read only mode or edit mode, select Edit and click OK to open Architect in edit mode so that you can make changes to the project. MicroStrategy Architect opens.
If you are only given the option of opening Architect in read only mode, this means another user is modifying the project’s schema. You cannot open Architect in edit mode until the other user is finished with their changes and the schema is unlocked.
For information on how you can use read only mode and edit mode for various schema editors, see Using read only or edit mode for schema editors.
4 If the Warehouse Tables pane is not displayed, from the Home tab, in the Panels area, click Show the Warehouse tables section.
5 In the Warehouse Tables pane, expand the database instance for the data source, which has had tables removed. The Warehouse Catalog dialog box opens. If this dialog box does not open, there are no tables that need to be removed from the project.
6 Select the check box for a table to remove it from the project.
7 After you have selected all the tables to delete, click OK to remove the tables that were selected to be deleted and return to Architect.
8 If a message is returned that a table cannot be removed because objects depend on it, you can click Yes to review a list of dependent objects. To remove the table from the project, all dependent objects must be deleted.
9 From the Home tab, in the Save area, click Save and Update Schema to save your changes.