Creating and Configuring a Project » Creating a production project » Using read only or edit mode for schema editors

Using read only or edit mode for schema editors

When opening a schema editor such as Architect, the Attribute Editor, the Fact Editor, and so on, you can choose to open the editor in read only mode or edit mode. These two modes allow some users to view the definition of schema objects (read only mode), while one user can make changes to the schema objects (edit mode).

To create and modify a project, you must be able to edit the schema objects of a project. If another user is editing a schema object, this can lock the schema from being edited by other users. This maintains the integrity of the project schema.

However, if some users only want to use the various schema editors to view the definitions of project schema objects to learn more information about them, they can use read only mode. This allows another user to modify the schema, while other users can view the schema objects without making any modifications.

The mode can be chosen in the Read Only dialog box that opens when opening any schema editor, which has the following options:

Read Only: Read only mode allows you to view the schema objects without locking the schema from other users. However, you cannot make any changes to the schema object.

If you open a schema editor in read only mode, the entire project is enabled to use read only mode. This means that every schema editor automatically opens in read only mode. However, from the Schema menu in Developer, you can clear the Read Only option to switch to edit mode. If you have a schema editor open, you must close and re-open the schema editor to switch to edit mode for that schema editor.

If you are working in read only mode, you cannot access schema editors that require the ability to make updates to the project, which includes the Attribute Creation Wizard, Fact Creation Wizard, Warehouse Catalog, MDX Cube Catalog, and the options to update the project schema.

Edit: Edit mode provides the standard capabilities of modifying schema objects, and it locks the schema from being modified by all other users. Therefore, only one user can be using edit mode for a project at a given time.

If you open a schema editor in edit mode, the entire project is enabled to use edit mode. This means that every schema editor automatically opens in edit mode. However, from the Schema menu in Developer, you can select the Read Only option to switch to read only mode. If you have a schema editor open, it is also switched to read only mode automatically and you cannot make any changes to schema objects.

You must use edit mode to access schema editors that require the ability to make updates to the project, which includes the Attribute Creation Wizard, Fact Creation Wizard, Warehouse Catalog, MDX Cube Catalog, and the options to update the project schema.

If someone has already locked the schema for a project, a message is displayed and you can only open the schema editor in read only mode.

Remember my selection as a default preference for future sessions: When this option is selected, the mode you select is defined as the default mode to use when opening any schema editor, and you are not prompted again to choose the mode for any schema editors. If you clear this check box, the mode you select is used for all schema editors only until you end the user session and close Developer.

If you select this check box, this becomes the default mode for all schema editors and you cannot change the default mode. However, you can switch between read only mode and edit mode in Developer, from the Schema menu, by selecting or clearing the Read Only Mode option.